Is "Draft Fatigue" A Thing??

C'mon...

In this week's P.O. Box:

  • Fantasy football fatigue?!

  • Stream roundup: Big Dogs

  • Offszn Book Club: 1 more to go

  • On Tap: Best Ball After Dark w/ Hope Bishop

This week on Best Ball Breakfast someone took a sharp detour away from discussing stacks and camp news to ask me this question:

I have enough self-awareness to realize this topic threatens to detonate the “first world problems” scale, but I figured there were a couple interesting things to unpack here.

By the way, if you ever have any topics/questions that you’d like me to field, feel free to respond to this email. Truthfully, I wouldn’t mind having some fodder for weeks where inspiration doesn’t strike in an obvious way.

The “draft fatigue” thing is a hilarious phenomena to me. I get where it’s coming from—there’s a type of best ball grinder/completionist who maxes every single contest because of some combination of +EV chasing and OCD—but let’s be real, it is an absurd premise.

I simply refuse to let drafting fantasy football teams become a chore. I’d say 90% of my drafting is done on stream, for Deposit Kingdom videos, or while doing cardio. Because it’s limited to those venues, I never get sick of it and am always excited to draft.

If drafting a goddamn fantasy football team starts to feel laborious, that should be your signal to dial things back a bit and touch some grass.

The “content fatigue” question is a little more relatable for me, but I’ll never complain about making too much fake football content. I’m fortunate that I get to determine my own workload, so anything that would result in fatigue would be from my own doing.

I have scaled things back each year and will likely continue to prune things as I try to free up more and more time to spend with April.

One thing that has been on mind recently, though, is feeling like I’m constantly looking ahead to the next immediate thing on my plate. August is particularly busy with all of the extra draft-related content and sometimes I feel like I’m not savoring it enough.

Everything I’m doing is fun, but I end up approaching a lot of things like a “check list” out of pure necessity to make sure I can squeeze it all in. This means I sometimes forget to fully enjoy a moment because I’m mentally rushing to get it off my plate to make room for the next thing.

So consider this my personal wake-up call to bask in the glory of August draft mania and soak it all up a bit more.

🚀 9 must-draft WRs to target before they breakout in 2024. In this video, we outline how to identify the rookie and second-year WRs who are about to explode and countdown the Top 9 candidates to smash ADP in 2024 drafts. Check it out on the Deposit Kingdom channel.

🎡Randomizer Draft w/ Emo Cowboy. Deposit Kingdom legend Tyler joins the show for a battle with the Randomizer wheel where he prank calls an adult novelty store, plays a game of beefcake or ladycake, and goes through multiple wardrobe changes. Vaguely NSFW.

☕️Best Ball Breakfast: Camp Risers To Target. Four more drafts on BBB this week, including ones with Shawn Siegele, Pat Kerrane, and special guest Dwain McFarland. The team I drafted with Dwain is one of my recent favorites. Also: PREVIOUSLY ON BEST BALL BREAKFAST.

🏆️Fantasy Life roundup. This week in the FL Newsletter: the never-ending Brandon Aiyuk saga, camp injuries, the Steelers QB battle, the myth of depth charts, and “my guys” in drafts. Plus, a recap of a recent high stakes best ball team I co-drafted with Michael Dubner.

Fantasy Life NewsletterIndustry leading Fantasy Football content, delivered daily to your inbox.

☣️ The Reality Behind The New Sports Betting Tax. We catch up on the Reignmakers fallout and discuss the truth behind the new tax for sports betting that DraftKings recently announced.

🚢 FFPC Main Event Draft w/ Stat Chasing (Chasing $1M). The crew build out a balanced team with monster upside at all four positions, debate when to take a QB, managed vs. best ball differences, and their favorite late-round sleepers

🏃 FFPC Main Event Minisodes. We just wrapped our premium series for YT Members where we discuss our picks while on the clock in the Main Event. In the final ep, we load up on some high upside rookie stashes.

💪The Swolecast Drafts A BBMV Team. The one where Kitchen admits to drafting while driving.

⏰ The Fast Start Players To Target. This week on Off & On The Clock, we cover the latest Aiyuk rumors, share our favorite plays in Weekly Winners, and then draft a BBM team and get into some fun player take debates.

🐶 Drafting with the Dog Pound. Hopped on with Pat to draft a BBM team. Get him to 2k subs so he has to do a 24-hour stream.

😡 Pet Peeve Bracket. Hopped on The Pat Mayo Experience to overview his pet peeve bracket and give out our picks.

📈 Deciphering Camp News w/ Adam Levitan (ADP Chasing). Levitan joins Sam , Davis, and Pat to discuss the latest risers and fallers on Underdog Fantasy, the Justin Fields rumors, and how he's parsing training camp reports. The crew also drafts a Big Dog team on Underdog Fantasy.

book club

Oops. I didn’t realize this wasn’t an actual book, but more a compendium of quotes/advice. Still, I enjoyed flipping through these the past few evenings.

This one dovetails with what I wrote about in the intro and one I need to take to heart:

Productivity is often a distraction. Don’t aim for better ways to get through your tasks as quickly as possible. Instead aim for better tasks that you never want to stop doing.

🌤️ Book #15 for August (5%): Paradise Sky by Joe R. Lansdale.

This book gets off to a fast start, wow.

✅ Book #13 for June (COMPLETE): True Grit by Charles Portis
Book #12 for July (COMPLETE): Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer
Book #11 for June (COMPLETE): The Hunter by Tana French
Book #10 for June (COMPLETE): River of Doubt by Candice Millard
Book #9 for May (COMPLETE): The Art Thief by Michael Finkel
Book #8 for May (COMPLETE): Sea of Tranquility by Emily St. John Mandel
Book #7 for April (COMPLETE): Everyone on This Train Is a Suspect by Benjamin Stevenson
Book #6 for April (COMPLETE): The Trading Game by Gary Stevenson
Book #5 for March (COMPLETE): Recursion by Blake Crouch
Book #4 for March (COMPLETE): The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson
Book #3 for Feb. (COMPLETE):Gambler: Secrets from a Life at Risk by Billy Walters
Book #2 for Feb. (COMPLETE): Chain Gang All-Starsby Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Book #1 in Jan. (COMPLETE): Clear Thinking by Shane Parris

Best Ball After Dark is back tonight at 8pm ET…

Hope from UD joins me to talk the final stretch of hot best ball summer. Become a YT member to watch live (top 2 tiers).

Need more newslettering? Check out the Fantasy Life newsletter I write regularly:

Fantasy Life NewsletterIndustry leading Fantasy Football content, delivered daily to your inbox.

Reply

or to participate.